Freeway X BenCab National Artist Collection launched
Review: Babolat Propulse 4
#WhyILove Cathay Pacific Premium Economy
Mirabell Palace and Gardens in Salzburg
On jewellery (or jewelry) photography
Bulalo with rice all you can
Posted by Dexter Matilla - - 0 comments

By Dexter R. Matilla
Philippine Daily Inquirer
DateFirst Posted 21:45:00 12/07/2009

Kulay sa Tubig winners named; Egai Fernandez and Pablo Baen Santos join Hall of Fame

THE ANNUAL KULAY SA TUBIG Invitational Watercolor Competition is the most prestigious of its kind in the country, and it has history on its side to prove it. Other competitions, backed up by multinational companies, may offer tens, sometimes hundreds, of thousands of pesos as prize winnings, but it is Kulay sa Tubig the Philippines’ top watercolor artists—both established and up-and-coming—look forward to joining every year.

They may just get medals or trophies as their prize, but winning Kulay sa Tubig means belonging to an elite circle that consists of artists who have passed the most critical and scrutinizing eyes of the country’s respected names in the art circle. For this year, they were Eric Torres, Alice Guillermo, Cid Reyes, Patrick Flores, Felipe de Leon Jr. and Jack Pilar.

“In a way, the artists compete for bragging rights,” says Aracelli Salas, owner of Gallery Genesis and originator of the competition.

Now on its 26th year, Kulay sa Tubig continues to encourage artists to bring forth the best they have to offer.

Salas explains that, as was in the previous years, the judges simply chose the five best among all the entries—54 this year—which are all considered first-placers. Similarly, there are also five runners-up.

But to some of the participating artists, to be invited alone is enough. One such is Nel Canasa, whose “Bangkang Papel” entry is one of the five best this year.

Bangkang Papel

“I’m happy indeed that Gallery Genesis invited me to exhibit and compete with the other watercolorists,” Canasa says. “I am very thankful to the owner and the people behind Gallery Genesis and to the jurors who chose my paintings and gave me the chance to be one of the top five winners.”

Canasa’s win this year is his third, thus elevating him to the Hall of Fame next year, together with Billy Pomida.

They will be joining the likes of Cheloy Dans, Manny Baldemor, Noli Manalang, Benjie Ladrido, Toti Cerda, Ping Cerriola, Clarence Eduarte, Ato Habulan, Pablo Baen Santos, Biboy Delotavo, Wong Shui Loong, Jimmy Vista, Cris Mirang and Egai Fernandez.

Joining Canasa and Pomida as Best Watercolorists are Danny Doce (“Nurturing with Passion”), Nik Masangcay (“Sa Paghupa”), and Ronald Velasco (“Munting Liwanag”).

The five runners-up are Tony Alcoseba (“Sanctuary”), Jaime Gubaton (“And They Shall Be Filled”), Ronald Jeresano (“Nasa Aking Mga Kamay”), Peter Sutcliffe (“The Watergate, Candaba”) and Angelito “Jo” Florendo (“Salamin ng Kalikasan”).

And They Shall Be Filled

In the Best of the Best category, which is the Hall of Fame, Egai Fernandez (“Pag Lumuha ang Langit”) and Pablo Baen Santos (“Meltdown”) shared top honors.

Pag Lumuha ang Langit

Salas says that what sustains the competition is the genuine desire of the participants to be recognized, and their commitment to elevate the watercolor medium.

All of the entries can be viewed at Gallery Genesis, W-1004 West Tower, Philippine Stock Exchange Centre, Exchange Road, Ortigas Center, Pasig. You may call Gallery Genesis at (02)633-8137.

Leave a Reply

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Most Read

Recent Posts

Wilson Juice 100 Playtest

Recent comments

Get Recent Comments Widget
Twitter Bird Gadget